Kovind likely to get more votes than Kumar in TN

Ram Nath Kovind. PTI file

Ram Nath Kovind. PTI file

Chennai: Voting to elect the 14th President of the country began here on Monday with Tamil Nadu Chief Minister E Palaniswami casting his vote.

The voting for the Presidential polls in underway and will last till 5:00 p.m.

A total 232 legislators from Tamil Nadu voted.

Excluding them, Kerala MLA Abdulla and Union Minister Pon Radhakrishnan, who have got special permission from Election Commission have also cast their votes. He is undergoing treatment in a city hospital.

He was followed by Speaker P Dhanapal, DMK's MK Stalin, former chief minister O Panneerselvam and others.

There are two candidates in the fray for the coveted post - National Democratic Alliance (NDA) candidate Ram Nath Kovind and United Progressive Alliance (UPA) candidate Meira Kumar.

Elected Members of Parliament (MP) and Member of Legislative Assemblies are eligible to vote to elect the next President.

President Pranab Mukherjee demits office on 25 July.

Latest News